La Maison E. Guigal
Maison e. Guigal
The Guigal domain was founded in 1946 by Etienne Guigal in Ampuis; a small, ancient village at the heart of the Côte-Rôtie appellation. It is overlooked by unique vineyards where vines and wine have been celebrated for over 2,400 years. Following his arrival in 1924 at the age of 14, the founder went on to make wine for 67 vintages in the Côte-Rôtie and, at the beginning of his career, took part in the development of the Vidal-Fleury establishment. In 1961, a still very young Marcel Guigal took over management of the domain when his father was struck by temporary but total blindness. He was joined in 1973 by his wife, Bernadette and they worked hand-in-hand to expand the family business. In 1975, their son Philippe was born and today he is the domain’s oenologist. Together with his wife, Eve, he represents the third generation and continues the family’s lifetime endeavour to be at the service of the greatest wines of the Rhône valley. Since 1946, hard work and perseverance have paid their dividends as demonstrated by certain key developments such as the purchase of the Vidal-Fleury establishment at the beginning of the ‘80s, which still preserves commercial autonomy and its own identity. Ten years later, 1995 heralded the acquisition of the famous Château d’Ampuis, an historical and oenological marvel situated on the banks of the Rhône with a long history linked directly to the Côte-Rôtie appellation The Guigal domain was further expanded in 2001 when it added the domains Jean-Louis Grippat and de Vallouit to its stable, thus strengthening significantly its position within the Côte-Rôtie appellation as well as the Hermitage, Saint-Joseph and Crozes-Hermitage appellations. In 2003, the Guigals, forever striving to improve their knowledge of wine and everything to do with it launched themselves into a brand-new adventure: barrel making. This artisanal and ancient craft enables them to master yet another skill within the charming historical surroundings of the Château d’Ampuis. In March 2006, the Guigal family purchased the Domaine de Bonserine which, whilst still retaining independence, enjoys the support of the Guigal domain in developing its activities. The acquisition of the Château de Nalys in Châteauneuf-du-Pape in July 2017 marks a milestone in the history of the Maison Guigal as it gained a foothold in the South of the Rhône Valley. Nalys became the southern jewel in the family crown. We are not very far from the first square metres of cellar where Etienne Guigal worked, although today there are 3 hectares of cellars and galleries housing barrels, oak and stainless-steel vats. The history and soul of the Guigal family infuse this place which quietly harbours these exceptional wines. At the same time and with the same spirit of passion and enthusiasm, the family selects, matures and sells wines from the greatest appellations of the Rhône valley.