The Guigal domain was founded in 1946 by Etienne Guigal in Ampuis, a small, ancient village at the heart of the Côte-Rôtie appellation. It is overlooked by unique vineyards where vines and wine have been celebrated for over 2,400 years. Following his arrival in 1924 at the age of 14, the founder went on to make wine for 67 vintages in the Côte-Rôtie and, at the beginning of his career, took part in the development of the Vidal-Fleury establishment.
In 1961, a still very young Marcel Guigal took over management of the domain when his father was struck by temporary but total blindness. He was joined in 1973 by his wife, Bernadette and they worked hand-in-hand to expand the family business. In 1975, their son Philippe was born and today he is the domain’s oenologist. Together with his wife, Eve, he represents the third generation and continues the family’s lifetime endeavour to be at the service of the greatest wines of the Rhône valley.